What’s The Sequence? View Profile First? Connect? Endorse?

1 Minute Read

Going to jump right in for this article!

Sequencing is the set of actions you can take with each prospect. For example: send connection request, message, endorse, follow, like/comment on a post.

It’s taken years to learn the best way to sequence...the order, the waiting time

in between actions and then of course what to say in my messages. Here is my strategy for LinkedIn sequencing:

As you can tell, I ALWAYS send a connection request as my 1st step with a lead and I DO NOT include a message in the connection request…why? I only include a note/message in the connection request if I have something that’s ACTUALLY relevant: met in real life at an event, went to the same university, reference a post I liked or commented on of theirs, etc.

Typically, I wait 24 hours after sending the connection request then I follow the below sequences.

Successful connection request: Wait 2 hours > Message #1 > Wait 3 hours > Like & comment on a post > Wait 1 day > Follow up message #1 > Wait 3 hours > Like & comment on a post > Wait 1 day > Follow Up Message #2 > Wait 1 day > Like & comment on a post > Endorse > Wait 3 hours > Follow up message #3 > Wait 1 day > Follow up message #4

Unsuccessful connection request: Wait 1 day > Like & comment on a post > Wait 5 hours > Like & comment on a post > Wait 1 day > Follow (if you have Inmails - I send message #1 after 1 day along with the liking & commenting on a post and follow up message #1 after the follow)

This took years of A/B testing, but the above sequencing is the one that works best in my experience. I like to keep my sequence of the course of 4-5 business days…then study the data from there. If a lead has not accepted or responded to me in this time frame, I tap them on a different channel: cold call or email.